History of Jhalas

Jhala/Zala is the name of a clan of Rajputs belonging to the Suryavanshi lineage, found mainly in the states of Rajasthan and Gujarat in India. And their collaterals the Rana sub-branch of Jhala. The Jhala claim descent from Harpaldev and Shaktidevi. Harpaldev had nineteen sons, one of whom was Manguji (Limbdi) and his son is Karansinhji (Samla).


A whole region of Gujarat, once ruled by them and named for them, was known as Jhalawar. There are many princely state rule by Jhala like Dhrangadhra was a 13-gun salute state in the 1920s, when it was ruled by members of the Jhala dynasty. At that time, Jhalas also governed in the 11-gun state of Wankaner and in the 9-gun states of Limbdi and Wadhwan, as well as in the non-salute states of Lakhtar, Sayla and Chuda. During the 12th century, there was a war between Maharaja of Kirtigarh, Shri Kesar dev Makwana and emporer of sindh, Hamir Sumra. Only prince Kesardevji and Harpal devji survived that war. Eventually makawanas lost the war. Prince Harpal dev decided to hid him self in the woods. During his stay in jungle, he learned different arts and black magic from the rishi munies who were living there. He decided to get his kingdom back. He moved to ‘Anhilpur patan’ (Gujarat). He decided to stay at the place of hi relative Karnadev solanki. Due to his mastery in archery and sword fitting, he got the place in Raj Darbar of Anhilpur Patan. King of the state was concerned about the rebellious leader name ‘Babaro Bhut’. To test his bravery, Karna Dev(the king) sent Harpal dev to defeat Babaro. Harpal dev won the battle against Babaro and with his great intellectuals skill, he got successful to make friendship with Babro. Babaro and his men, then rebuilt the fort of Patan. As a reward of Harpaldev’s work, Karna dev gave him some villages near Patadi. Harpal dev got married to Shakti, the daughter of Karnadev solanki who helped him at initial stage. Shakti is the mother goddess of Jhalas today.
Shree Marmara Devi
Janmadatri Devi:
Shree Adhya Shakti Devi
Chaturbhuj Vishnu
Triambakeshwar Jyotirlinga (Dwarka)
Aradhya Devi:
Shree Hinglaj Mata
Aradhya Dev:
Suryanarayan Dev
Sahayak Devi:
Bhairavi Devi